Rafting through Valley of Lilacs with exciting rapids from Usce to Polumir. Visiting ethno village Krstovgrad and the monastery Zica from XIII century.
|DEPARTURE LOCATION||Belgrade, the parking lot at the municipality of New Belgrade|
|DEPARTURE TIME||7 h|
|INCLUDED IN THE PRICE||Transportation by minibus from Belgrade
Rafting on Ibar River with duration 3h
Necessary equipment for rafting (rubber boat, safety vests, helmets, neoprene suits, and boots)
Sightseeing to the itinerary (ethno village Krstovgrad and the monastery Zica)
|NOT INCLUDED|| Lunch
Other individual costs
- We recommend clothes that dries up quickly and does not soak too much water. You can wear it under a neoprene suit. Ibar rafting does not require previous rowing experience.
- For the tour realization, it is necessary minimum 18 passengers
- Payment: 30 % at registration, the rest at least 5 days before the tour
- Price is for members of "Explore Serbia". You can find membership information here.
Belgrade – Usce
- Departure from Belgrade at 7 AM from the parking lot at the municipality New Belgrade
- Transfer to Usce, where we will arrive around noon.
- Preparation for the rafting tour
- Rafting on Ibar River, 3h with breaks for swimming
- Visiting ethno village Krstovgrad and the monastery Zica from XIII century.
- Departure to Belgrade, arrival in the evening.
Ethno village Krstovgrad
It is located in the village of Progorelica near Kraljevo, on a hill overlooking the Ibar valley. Collector Zeljko Kosanin has been collecting the last 30 years sculptures, about five thousand paintings, icons and other artworks. In his collection are the sculptures of Ivan Mestrovic and Jovan Soldatovic, Ruben’s and Kalo’s paintings, Serbian and Russian icons from the 17th century, silver samurai, porcelain from the English court, silverware from Ric Hotel from Paris, King Aleksandar's dagger and many other valuable items.
In the collection there is also a replica of the throne where Stefan the First-Crowned was crowned, copies of the chairs on which the knights of the stone table were sitting, as well as the crockery, brushed from semi-precious stone.
Žiča is a Serbian medieval monastery dating from the first half of the XIII century, located near Kraljevo.
The monastery, together with the Church of the Holy Dormition, was built by the first King of Serbia, Stefan the First-Crowned and the first Head of the Serbian Church, Saint Sava. Žiča was the seat of the Archbishop (1219–1253), and by tradition the coronational church of the Serbian kings, although a king could be crowned in any Serbian church, he was never considered a true king until he was anointed in Žiča. Žiča was declared a Cultural Monument of Exceptional Importance in 1979, and it is protected by Serbia. In 2008, Žiča celebrated 800 years of existence.
In 1219, Žiča became the first seat of the Serbian Archbishopic. The church, dedicated to the Ascension of Our Lord, displays the features of the Raska school. The ground plan is shaped as a spacious nave with a large apse at its eastern end. The central space is domed. The church was built of stone and brick. Architecturally, the Byzantine spirit prevails.
There are two layers of painting, each being a separate entity.
- older - originated around 1220 and belongs to the Golden Age of Serbian Painting
- younger - formed at the beginning of the 14th century and belongs to the painting from the age of King Milutin, created under the influence of the Renaissance Paleologist, which can be said to be representative examples of the painting.
During the Ottoman rule, the monastery was abandoned on several occasions, after which it was restored.
Žiča was declared a Cultural Monument of Exceptional Importance in 1979, and it is protected by Serbia. In 2008, Žiča celebrated 800 years of existence.